Indian Festivals and Us

I love how my family celebrates almost all Indian festivals… with what else but food. 😋

During Eid, Mom makes biriyani and kheer. For Pongal, she prepares the sweet rice pongal… and so on.

Today is Pongal/Sankranti. Our neighbours sent us lots of goodies as you can see.

image

I love the fact that our neighbours (referring to many homes on our lane, not just those next door) have this tradition of sharing homemade goodness during festivals.

Mommy’s feeling a bit under the weather (speaking of which, the Bangalore weather is unpredictable) so I decided to make Pongal myself, while Mommy was resting. I really, really wanted to make it. Maybe it was the fear of breaking the tradition. Or my newfound love for cooking. 🙂

And it turned out delicious, if I may say so myself.

image

Happy, yummy festivities to all of you!

Leave a Reply

