Chasing the Moon

phases-of-the-moon-reynah-dlima.jpg

I’ve chased sunrises
and sunsets
but
tonight,
I chased you.

Out of the window
of our car,
I gazed at you
as you peeked
from behind clouds
and skyscrapers.

Why didn’t the flyover
pave the path to you?

Damn.

*seventeen minutes and a heartbreak later*

No, you wouldn’t
give me a glimpse of yourself
from the crowded road
and the clouded sky.

To the terrace
i rushed,
hoping you would be waiting,
only for me.

There you were,
in all your splendour
waiting to be worshipped
by star-spangled eyes
and wonderstruck sighs.

Elusive
and
enchanting.

The clouds
were fortune-tellers
with their palms around
the crystal ball,
delving into
the future unknown.
I would bring you home
with me
just for tonight
but
i wouldn’t dare
leave the Sky
bereft of its precious companion,
as you both looked down
at the mundane world go by.

clouds-and-moon-reynah-dlima.JPG

 

4 thoughts on “Chasing the Moon

Leave a Reply

