October 14th | Escaping Heartache

Dogs’ lives are too short. Their only fault, really.
Agnes Sligh Turnbull

The only reason I am glad I don’t own a dog/dogs is because I don’t have to go through the heartbreak of losing them.

I fall deeply in love with friends’ pets and when they die, their passing away depresses me like very few things do.

Dogs bring so much joy into our world. A listening year, a warm lick, a playful nudge, a moist nose, a wagging tail knocking things down or just a pair of eyes you can’t ever say “no” to – they bring it all.

And when they leave, they take with them a world of goodness, leaving a void that refuses to be filled.

Remembering one of my favourites – Bubbles – as she celebrates her birthday today in Doggie Heaven. The stars, my dear, must be smiling with you.

Photograph from 2013: hugging Bubbles – my beautiful, smiling girl. She passed away in 2014.


Reposted from October 14, 2015

2 thoughts on “October 14th | Escaping Heartache

Leave a Reply

